First-Time DUI Offense in Glendale

Home /  Glendale Criminal Defense Lawyer /  Glendale DUI Lawyer /  First-Time DUI Offense in Glendale

For many people, a first-time DUI offense in Glendale is also the first time they have ever been arrested and subject to criminal prosecution. This can be a challenging and frightening situation, especially if you try to take on the legal process alone.

Fortunately, help is available to you from an experienced DUI lawyer at Grand Canyon Law Group. Our former prosecutors know how stressful this sort of scenario can be and will fight tirelessly for you and your rights. With capable legal counsel, you stand a much better chance of resolving your charges with minimal impact on your personal and professional prospects.

PENALTIES FOR FIRST-TIME DUI OFFENSES

Under Arizona Revised Statute §28-1381, someone commits the offense of driving under the influence (DUI) if they are in “actual physical control” of any motor vehicle while they are meaningfully “impaired” by alcohol or drugs. Police officers can determine a driver’s impairment by observing their behavior before and during a traffic stop, asking them to perform field sobriety tests, or chemically testing their blood, breath, or saliva for intoxicating substances.

DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor for first-time offenders, which means that a convicted individual could face maximum criminal sanctions of one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. However, DUI offenses are somewhat unique because state law also specifies minimum penalties upon conviction. A first-time DUI conviction comes with at least 10 days of jail time (with nine eligible for suspension through successful completion of alcohol/drug screening) and at least $1,250 in fines.

Additionally, people convicted of first-time DUIs could be subject to the following penalties:

  • 90-day driver’s license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in all personal vehicles for one year
  • Mandatory traffic school, alcohol education/treatment, and community service

Our dedicated Glendale lawyers could further explain the consequences of a first-time DUI charge during an initial meeting.

CONTESTING A FIRST-TIME DUI CHARGE IN GLENDALE

Criminal courts do not necessarily go easy on first-time DUI offenders just because they have no prior criminal record. Effectively fighting back against this type of allegation usually involves building a counterargument for specific elements of the prosecution’s case. For example, our local attorneys could show that the police did not have probable cause to pull the defendant over in the first place or that the officer conducting field sobriety tests did not follow proper procedures.

If a first-time DUI charge leads to a conviction, our skilled lawyers in Glendale can work to mitigate the penalties and protect the defendant’s future. Regardless of the circumstances, our legal team is prepared to fight for the best possible outcome. We believe you have a way of life worth saving.

DISCUSS LEGAL OPTIONS FOR A FIRST-TIME DUI OFFENSE WITH A GLENDALE ATTORNEY

Arizona criminal courts are rarely sympathetic to people accused of DUI, even those who have never been arrested for anything else before. Fortunately, seasoned legal counsel can work tirelessly to protect your best interests and improve your odds of resolving your charges favorably. The quality of your legal representation can make all the difference in the outcome of your case.

When dealing with a first-time DUI offense in Glendale, do not hesitate to reach out to Grand Canyon Law Group for advice. Call today to schedule a meeting.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help