Scottsdale Underage DUI Lawyer

Home /  Scottsdale Underage DUI Lawyer

Scottsdale Underage DUI Attorney

Everyone knows it is illegal to drive a vehicle while your ability is impaired by alcohol. However, those under the age of 21 cannot have any alcohol in their system whatsoever while behind the wheel. In addition, minors can face increased penalties and consequences for a DUI arrest.

A Scottsdale underage DUI lawyer is prepared to help you defend your rights and protect your future against these charges. The savvy attorneys at Grand Canyon Law Group know how to fight common DUI charges and those related to underage drinking. We are here to preserve your way of life.

PENALTIES FOR COMMON DUI CHARGES

The state’s DUI laws apply to everyone, regardless of age. Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-1381 states it is illegal for any person to be in control of a vehicle while:

  • Having a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more, or
  • Being under the influence of alcohol or drugs that impair their ability to control the vehicle

DUI cases are severe matters. Under state law, there is no diversion program allowing a defendant to avoid a conviction and associated penalties. Instead, DUI is a misdemeanor offense with a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days in jail. Additionally, convictions come with a minimum $1,250 fine and a 90-day loss of license.

Our experienced Scottsdale attorneys can help present defenses against DUI cases for underage defendants. This includes challenging the outcome of any blood, breath, or urine test. It may also involve cross-examining the arresting officer at trial concerning their recollection of the event. These strategies can help create reasonable doubt about common DUI allegations.

ZERO TOLERANCE POLICY FOR UNDERAGE DRINKING AND DRIVING IN SCOTTSDALE

It is not illegal for adults to drink alcohol in limited amounts before driving a car. A person may consume some alcohol before driving and still be in compliance with the law.

However, this same degree of tolerance does not apply to people under 21. A separate portion of the law aims to penalize minors who illegally consume alcohol and then drive a vehicle.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 4-244 outlines the offense of underage drinking and driving. For minors, having any amount of alcohol in one’s system is against the law. Prosecutors may attempt to prove underage consumption of alcohol using strategies similar to those applied in regular DUI cases.

However, underage DUI cases can bring enhanced penalties upon conviction. The maximum jail term for a conviction is 180 days, and the court must also impose a minimum two-year loss of license. An underage DUI lawyer at our Scottsdale office can help build a strong defense against these severe allegations.

CONTACT A SCOTTSDALE UNDERAGE DUI ATTORNEY IMMEDIATELY

All charges related to DUI must be taken seriously. However, the situation becomes even more severe when a defendant is under 21 at the time of the arrest. Convictions here come with significant mandatory jail sentences and license suspensions.

To protect your future against these harsh consequences, reach out to a Scottsdale underage DUI lawyer today. The legal team at Grand Canyon Law Group can explain the state’s underage drinking laws and common DUI charges. We will work to formulate a defense to both the core DUI allegation and underage drinking charge. Contact us now to discuss your situation and get the legal guidance you need.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help