Chandler Sexual Abuse Lawyer

Home /  Chandler Criminal Defense Lawyer /  Chandler Sex Crimes Lawyer /  Chandler Sexual Abuse Lawyer

Any kind of criminal allegation involving sexual misconduct in Arizona can have life-changing repercussions, even for a first-time offender. Sexual abuse is a felony punishable by lengthy prison terms, with harsher penalties if the offense involves a person under 15 years old or the defendant is a repeat offender.

No matter what circumstances led to you facing this charge, you have a right to dedicated legal representation from a skilled attorney. Once retained, a Chandler sexual abuse lawyer at Grand Canyon Law Group can tailor an effective defense to your situation and pursue a positive case outcome. Let us put our years of experience to work for you.

HOW DOES STATE LAW DEFINE “SEXUAL ABUSE?”

According to Arizona Revised Statute §13-1404, there are two ways someone can commit the felony offense of “sexual abuse,” both of which involve the perpetrator engaging in non-consensual sexual contact with another person. In this context, “sexual contact” entails someone indirectly or directly touching, groping, or manipulating another person’s genitals, female breasts, or anus. It can alternatively involve causing such contact through manipulating an object, engaging in such contact with any other part of the perpetrator’s body besides their hand, or causing someone else to engage in such contact.

Someone may commit sexual abuse if they knowingly or intentionally engage in sexual consent with someone over 15 years of age without that person’s consent. It is important to note that consent cannot be used as a defense to a sex abuse allegation if the alleged target was between 15 and 17 years old and the alleged perpetrator held a position of trust over them.

Alternatively, sexual abuse may entail someone over 18 engaging in sexual contact with the female breast of a person under 15 years of age. Our Chandler sexual abuse attorneys can go into further detail about these and other legal definitions during a confidential consultation.

POTENTIAL PENALTIES FOR A SEXUAL ABUSE CONVICTION IN CHANDLER

The first type of sexual abuse defined above is a class 5 felony in Arizona, meaning that a first-time offender convicted of this offense may face a sentencing range of six months to two and a half years of imprisonment. Someone with one prior felony offense may face between one and 3.75 years in prison upon conviction of sexual abuse, and someone with two or more previous felony convictions may face a sentencing range of three to 7.5 years.

The second type of sexual abuse defined above is a class 3 dangerous crime against children, which substantially increases the penalties upon conviction. As an experienced lawyer at our firm can explain, a first-time sex abuse offense carries a sentencing range of 2.5 to 7.5 years, with repeat offenders potentially being subject to up to 25 years behind bars.

DISCUSS LEGAL OPTIONS WITH A CHANDLER SEXUAL ABUSE ATTORNEY

Sexual abuse charges can be challenging to contest and devastating to your personal and professional life. However, assistance from experienced legal counsel can make a huge difference in your ability to enforce your rights and proactively pursue a positive case result.

A private meeting with a Chandler sexual abuse lawyer could provide important information about your legal options and next steps. Call Grand Canyon Law Group today to schedule yours.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help