Mesa Hit and Run Lawyer

Home /  Mesa Hit and Run Lawyer

Mesa Hit and Run Attorney

There are many reasons why a person may leave the scene of a traffic accident. However, if a motorist strikes another vehicle and flees the scene without leaving contact information, they will likely face charges for committing a hit and run, regardless of whether the vehicle was parked or in motion.

If you were recently charged for a “hit and run” accident, you need legal representation from a skilled defense attorney. The way you behave early in the case can greatly impact your case, whether for good or for bad. At Grand Canyon Law Group, a Mesa hit and run lawyer can work to protect you from the severe penalties that accompany a conviction. It is crucial that you reach out to our firm as soon as possible to begin building a strong case in your defense.

WHAT IS A “HIT AND RUN” ACCIDENT?

Generally, the term “hit and run” refers to a motor vehicle accident where one of the drivers fails to remain to exchange contact information at the scene following the collision. In Mesa and throughout Arizona, these accidents often involve two motorists colliding on the road, or when one driver hits a parked vehicle and fails to notify or make reasonable efforts to locate or inform its owner.

In either case, fleeing the scene of a vehicular accident is a punishable criminal offense under Arizona state law. Anyone accused of this crime should discuss their circumstances with an experienced hit and run attorney to help mitigate or prevent the severe consequences of a conviction.

CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR HIT AND RUNS IN MESA

In Arizona, the criminal penalties for unlawfully leaving the scene of an accident will vary depending on the circumstances and outcome of the collision. If the traffic crash involved fatal injuries, a person who flees the scene could face felony-level penalties, regardless of whether they caused the accident or not.

FLEEING THE SCENE OF A SERIOUS TRAFFIC ACCIDENT

Under A.R.S. § 28-661(B), if another motorist or passenger is fatally injured in a traffic collision, a motorist who flees the scene may be guilty of a class 3 felony. These charges are increased to a class 2 felony if the driver who fled was also responsible for causing the accident. If a motorist leaves the scene of an accident where another person sustained non-fatal physical injuries, they face penalties for a class 5 felony, as provided under A.R.S. § 28-661(C).

FAILING TO STOP AFTER HITTING A PARKED VEHICLE

Under A.R.S. § 28-664(B), drivers who fail to stop after hitting a parked vehicle could be charged with a class 3 misdemeanor. Under A.R.S. §§ 13-707(A)(3) and 13-802(C), a person who commits a class 3 misdemeanor could face up to 30 days in jail, a fine of $500, or both. To defend against these charges and prevent serious penalties, it is crucial to seek immediate legal assistance from the local hit and run lawyers at Grand Canyon Law Group.

DISCUSS YOUR CASE WITH A MESA HIT AND RUN ATTORNEY

After a traffic accident, especially one involving serious injuries, you may feel confused and frightened. These emotions are only heightened by criminal hit and run charges against you. Regardless of the specific circumstances, you deserve dedicated legal counsel to help you through this difficult time and advocate for your rights.

Charges for fleeing the scene of an accident can lead to harsh criminal penalties that impact your freedom, future, and way of life. Give yourself the best chance of a positive case outcome and retain a Mesa hit and run attorney for your defense. At Grand Canyon Law Group, our attorneys are prepared to aggressively fight the charges against you and provide legal guidance at every step of the way. Call us today for a consultation about your case.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help