Scottsdale Sexual Abuse Lawyer

Home /  Scottsdale Sexual Abuse Lawyer

Scottsdale Sexual Abuse Attorney

A sexual abuse conviction has lifelong, severe consequences. If you face a sexual abuse charge or learn you are under investigation for the crime, contact a skilled criminal attorney immediately. Do not speak with investigators until you have legal representation.

A Scottsdale sexual abuse lawyer at Grand Canyon Law Group can ensure the investigators and prosecutors hear your side of the story. Depending on the evidence, it could be possible to resolve a sexual abuse charge while protecting your way of life.

HOW ARIZONA DEFINES SEXUAL ABUSE

Arizona Statute §13-1404 defines sexual abuse as sexual contact with someone at least 15 years old without consent. Intentionally touching an alleged victim’s genitals or anus, or breast, if the alleged victim is female, is sexual abuse. In most cases, the crime is a Class 5 felony. A conviction carries a presumptive prison sentence of 18 months, although a sentence could range from six months to two and a half years.

People who feel they have been wrongfully accused of sexual abuse often believe they can explain what happened to an investigator or police officer and resolve the matter. However, it is best to avoid talking to the police without legal representation. A Scottsdale sexual abuse attorney can protect the defendant’s rights and prevent them from making incriminating statements.

SEXUAL ABUSE WHEN AN ALLEGED VICTIM IS A CHILD

Charges of sexual abuse are more complicated when the alleged victim is under 18. For example, consent is often an effective defense to a sexual abuse charge, but someone under 18 cannot legally consent to sexual contact. However, a skilled Scottsdale lawyer could still raise several defenses to sexual abuse charges in these situations. For instance, if the accused is attending high school or under 19, the alleged victim is no more than two years younger, and the activity was consensual, the prosecution is unlikely to proceed.

Sexual abuse charges are not usually applicable if the alleged victim is under 15 unless the alleged contact was confined to the breast. This is a Class 3 felony charge and counts as a dangerous act involving a child under Arizona Statute §13-705. Our sexual abuse lawyers in Scottsdale can explain how this statute would affect sentencing in a specific case.

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY FOR SEXUAL ABUSE

A person convicted of sexually abusing someone under 18 must register as a sex offender. They must maintain a current listing of their photograph, fingerprints, vehicle, and contact information with the county’s sheriff. Providing current information to the registry is a lifelong obligation.

DEFENDING A SEXUAL ABUSE CHARGE IN SCOTTSDALE

A sexual abuse conviction carries severe consequences. However, a savvy lawyer at our firm could use numerous defenses depending on the circumstances of the sex abuse allegation.

Asserting that the contact was accidental or without sexual intent could be an effective defense in some cases. Questioning the alleged victim’s motive could be a good strategy, especially if the parties are involved in a divorce, custody battle, or other dispute.

Alternatively, our Scottsdale attorneys could cite poor police work or violations of an accused’s rights to defend against a sexual abuse charge. Reviewing the alleged victim’s statement and the intake officer’s notes could provide valuable information to the defense. Other defenses could be effective depending on the circumstances.

CONTEST A SEXUAL ABUSE CHARGE WITH A SCOTTSDALE ATTORNEY

Sexual abuse is a serious crime requiring a strong defense to avoid severe penalties. A sex crime conviction could profoundly impact the rest of your life.

At Grand Canyon Law Group, we believe you have a future worth fighting for. Talk to a Scottsdale sexual abuse lawyer at our firm about your situation and learn your options for defense. Call today to set up a confidential consultation.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help