Tempe DUI Lawyer

Home /  Tempe DUI Lawyer

Tempe DUI Attorney

Arizona has some of the harshest laws in the country for driving under the influence (DUI). If you are accused of intoxicated driving, you need dedicated representation from a skilled attorney, regardless of the circumstances of your case. People make mistakes, and the police’s methods for determining intoxication are not always accurate.

If you are arrested on these charges, contact a Tempe DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The legal team at Grand Canyon Law Group can use every available strategy to avoid a conviction or mitigate the penalties against you.

VARYING DEGREES OF DUI IN TEMPE

There are several DUI offense levels, all of which involve jail time, fines, and treatment programs upon conviction. Our seasoned local attorneys understand the various DUI charges and can craft an effective defense for the specific circumstances.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-1381 makes it illegal to drive or control a vehicle if a person is even slightly impaired due to alcohol or drugs. Additionally, it is illegal for a person to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeding .08% or with any amount of illegal drugs in their system. Those with a commercial driver’s license must have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) under .04%.

However, motorists may face DUI charges even with BACs under .08% given the broad interpretation of “slight impairment.” Additionally, drivers under the age of 21 may not have any alcohol in their system while operating a vehicle.

PENALTIES FOR A BASIC DUI

If convicted, first-time offenders face a minimum of 10 days and up to 6 months in jail, as well as up to $2,500 in fines. For a second offense, individuals must serve at least 90 days in jail, pay a minimum $3,000 fine, and relinquish their driver’s license for a year. Upon release, individuals must attend treatment, install a certified ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle for 12 months, and complete a period of community service.

Besides criminal penalties, a conviction for DUI can impact a person’s life in significant ways. A mark on a criminal record may make it difficult to secure employment, housing, loans, and professional licenses. To avoid these collateral consequences, it is crucial to be proactive in contacting a dedicated DUI attorney in the community.

EXTREME DUI

Extreme DUI charges may be brought if a person’s BAC is above .15 and below .20. Under Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 28-1382, penalties start with:

  • A minimum jail time of 30 days, with no option for probation or suspended sentences
  • At least $2,500 in fines
  • Mandatory treatment
  • Installation of an IID
  • Community service

The penalties will be even higher if the person’s BAC is above .20%.

Second-time offenders will experience enhanced penalties of at least 120 days behind bars and $3,250 in fines.

AGGRAVATED DUI

The most serious DUI charge is a felony under Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 28-1383. Aggravated DUI occurs when a person drives intoxicated:

  • With a suspended or revoked license
  • For the third time in 84 months
  • With a minor under 15 years old in the vehicle
  • With an IID installed and refuses a BAC test

In addition to all the requirements of lesser DUI offenses, an aggravated DUI charge carries a mandatory prison term along with serious driver’s license consequences.

REFUSING TO TAKE SOBRIETY TESTS

By accepting an Arizona driver’s license, a person agrees to submit to intoxicating substance testing under the State’s Implied Consent Law. People may refuse sobriety tests, but not without ramifications. When a person declines these field evaluations, the officer may arrest them on suspicion of driving intoxicated, present the refusal as evidence of guilt at trial, and request the individual submit to a blood test, urine evaluation, or breathalyzer.

If a person rejects these further requests, the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) may automatically suspend their driver’s licenses for 12 months. Our DUI attorneys can help Tempe residents resolve license suspension issues with the DOT in addition to providing vigorous legal representation.

CONTACT A TEMPE DUI ATTORNEY FOR AGGRESSIVE DEFENSE

DUI charges are not easy to beat without an experienced attorney at your side. It is essential to work with the right lawyer to effectively challenge the prosecution’s case and secure a dismissal or reduction of charges.

If you are facing these serious criminal allegations, do not try to resolve the situation on your own. Reach out to a Tempe DUI lawyer at the Grand Canyon Law Group today to get the representation and advocacy you need.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help