Tempe Underage DUI Lawyer

Home /  Tempe Underage DUI Lawyer

Tempe Underage DUI Attorney

State laws concerning the consumption of alcohol are clear. Under no circumstances is it legal for a person under 21 to purchase, consume, or otherwise possess alcoholic beverages. In most circumstances, being caught with alcohol as a minor is a trivial violation. However, the case becomes much more serious when a police officer suspects an underage person has consumed alcohol and driven a motor vehicle.

People under 21 may face multiple criminal charges related to this alleged behavior. This can include accusations involving the illegal consumption of alcohol as well as cases alleging violations of the state’s DUI laws. A Tempe underage DUI lawyer is ready to build defenses that help young people avoid harsh criminal penalties. Let the dedicated attorneys at Grand Canyon Law Group fight for your future.

FIGHTING BACK AGAINST COMMON DUI CHARGES

The state’s prohibitions on driving under the influence of alcohol apply to everyone, regardless of age. This means that a police officer may arrest a driver if they have probable cause to believe the driver is intoxicated.

This can result in first-time DUI charges for a driver. Under Arizona Revised Statute § 28-1381, these are misdemeanor cases with harsh potential penalties. A conviction will require a mandatory-minimum 10-day jail sentence, the payment of fines of at least $1,250, and a loss of license for at least 90 days.

Defending young people against DUI cases is one way a Tempe DUI attorney can provide crucial assistance. Our skilled lawyers are prepared to contest the idea that a minor was under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. This can involve disputing the results of blood, breath, or urine tests or challenging an officer’s observations of a driver during the trial.

SPECIAL LAWS THAT APPLY TO PEOPLE UNDER THE AGE OF 21

Consuming alcohol is strictly against the law for anyone under the age of 21. Drinking beer, wine, or any other alcoholic beverage is a violation that comes with relatively minor penalties. However, getting behind the wheel of a vehicle after drinking alcohol is a serious crime for underage individuals.

Arizona Revised Statute § 2-244(34) states that having any amount of alcohol in one’s system as a minor is a violation. While these cases are still misdemeanors, the statute says that a conviction comes with a jail sentence of at least 180 days. In addition, the judge must impose a two-year loss of license and a fine of at least $500.

A seasoned lawyer can play an essential role in contesting allegations of underage DUI in Tempe. Legal counsel can question whether a defendant consumed any alcohol or even challenge a person’s official age at the time of the traffic stop. The underage DUI attorneys at our firm are ready to craft a defense that fits the specific facts of a case.

REACH OUT TO A TEMPE UNDERAGE DUI ATTORNEY TODAY

A DUI charge can have severe consequences and significantly affect a defendant’s life. However, these cases may have an even greater impact on those under the age of 21. For minors, consuming any amount of alcohol is illegal, and drunk driving comes with a six-month mandatory minimum jail sentence upon conviction.

A Tempe underage DUI lawyer wants to help mitigate potential penalties you face. The legal team at Grand Canyon Law Group is ready to explain the relevant laws, explore the facts that led to your arrest, and present an effective defense in court. Contact us now to discuss your situation and get the legal counsel you need.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help