Tempe First Offense DUI Lawyer

Home /  Tempe First Offense DUI Lawyer

Tempe First Offense DUI Attorney

Among the most common cases heard in Tempe criminal courts are those involving driving under the influence. A DUI accusation may be a motorist’s first encounter with the legal system. They might not be aware of the specific laws involved in these cases or what elements the prosecution must prove to obtain a conviction. They may also not understand their rights after an arrest.

A lawyer can provide crucial assistance immediately after an arrest for a first-time DUI in Tempe. The relentless defense attorneys at Grand Canyon Law Group can fight to protect your rights while in police custody and investigate the incident to uncover weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case. We will work with you to identify realistic goals and formulate effective defense strategies.

THE STATE’S LAWS PROHIBITING DUI

The state’s statutes define drunk driving in two separate ways. According to Arizona Revised Statute § 28-1381, a driver violates the law if they are in control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or are in control of a vehicle while having a blood/alcohol content of .08 percent or more.

Under the first example, the prosecution can rely entirely on the arresting officer’s observations. This can include dashcam footage of a driver’s actions while behind the wheel and results from field sobriety tests. Arrests for alleged DUI also may result in a blood, breath, or urine test, which prosecutors can use to pursue their charges. An experienced attorney can provide more information about the state’s DUI laws and help protect the rights of those arrested for a first-time DUI in Tempe.

PENALTIES FOR FIRST-TIME DUIS IN TEMPE

The potential penalties for a DUI conviction are harsh. Under the state’s DUI statute cited above, a first conviction can result in a fine of at least $1,250. The court can also enforce a maximum jail sentence of one year, with a mandatory term of at least ten days. Additionally, a conviction must result in a loss of license for 90 days and the installation of an ignition interlock system. Our skilled local attorneys are dedicated to helping people to avoid the penalties of a first-time DUI conviction.

DEFENSES FOR A FIRST DUI OFFENSE

The most direct way to avoid these penalties is to prevent a conviction in court. A Tempe first-time DUI lawyer can work to contest the legality of breath, blood, or urine tests. Our legal team can also cross-examine the arresting officer to create doubt regarding their observations.

Unfortunately, Arizona does not offer alcohol treatment and education programs as an alternative to formal prosecution. It is critical that people approach their cases from positions of strength. Talking with our Tempe attorneys now allows us to provide immediate assistance in fighting first-time DUI allegations.

CONTACT AN ATTORNEY IMMEDIATELY AFTER A FIRST-TIME DUI IN TEMPE

An arrest for an alleged DUI is a serious matter. A conviction for even a first-time DUI in Tempe will lead to stiff fines, the loss of your license for at least 90 days, and jail time. From the moment of your arrest, you need to understand your rights and retain legal counsel to fight for you.

The seasoned attorneys at Grand Canyon Law Group are ready to represent you throughout the legal process. We can explain the relevant laws, gather evidence about the case, and work to protect your rights every step of the way. Reach out to our firm to learn more about how we can defend your way of life.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help