Tempe Hit And Run Lawyer

Home /  Tempe Hit And Run Lawyer

Tempe Hit And Run Attorney

After being involved in any traffic accident, motorists in Arizona are legally required to stop their vehicles, render aid as much as possible, exchange contact and insurance information with all involved parties, and notify law enforcement about any resulting injury or fatality. Anyone who fails to abide by these rules may face criminal charges.

Time is of the essence when it comes to contesting hit and run charges. Contacting a skilled defense attorney should be a top priority if you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident. Once retained, a Tempe hit and run lawyer at Grand Canyon Law Group can help you build a comprehensive defense strategy, enforce your rights throughout the legal proceedings, and work diligently to secure a favorable case result.

MISDEMEANOR HIT AND RUN CHARGES IN TEMPE

Arizona Revised Statutes §§28-662 through 28-665 address situations where a driver is involved in a motor vehicle that results in property damage but no physical injury to any person involved. If the incident causes damage to a vehicle driven or occupied by another person, all drivers involved must immediately stop at the scene of the crash and remain there until they have provided their name, address, vehicle registration information, and—if requested—driver’s license information. If the incident causes damage to an unattended vehicle, personal property, or a road fixture, reasonable efforts must be made to provide this information to the property’s owner.

Failure to fulfill these steps after a motor vehicle accident is considered a class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction could be punished by a maximum of six months in jail and a $2,500 fine. A local attorney at our firm can help resolve misdemeanor hit and run charges and minimize their long-term impact.

WHEN DOES HIT AND RUN BECOME A FELONY?

Hit and run charges become much more serious if anyone involved in a traffic accident was injured. Leaving the scene without providing necessary contact information or helping injured individuals is a class 6 felony under A.R.S. §28-663, as a Tempe hit and run attorney can explain.

Failing to stop after an auto accident resulting in injury becomes an increasingly severe offense depending on the severity of the injury and the defendant’s culpability for the wreck. At a basic level, a hit and run resulting in injury is a class 5 felony. If the wreck caused a serious or fatal injury, this offense becomes a class 3 felony. If a defendant leaves the scene of a severe or fatal crash they directly caused, the ensuing charge may be prosecuted as a class 2 felony. Regardless of what hit and run charges a person faces, it is crucial to seek representation from a Tempe attorney as soon as possible.

CONTACT A TEMPE HIT AND RUN ATTORNEY TODAY

For a first conviction, felony hit and run charges in Arizona may be punishable by four months minimum for a class 6 offense to 12.5 years maximum for a class 2 offense. There are even harsher penalties for repeat offenders. When the stakes are this high, it is critical to give yourself every advantage by working with a seasoned attorney at Grand Canyon Law Group.

A Tempe hit and run lawyer can make a huge difference in your chances of success. Learn more about how we can fight for your freedom and way of life by calling us today.

Schedule A Consultation With The Grand Canyon Attorney Who Can Help